2018 City of Regina Writing Award

And the winner is Debby Adair! Congratulations Debby!

Also honoured by the jury are this year’s runners-up: Iryn Tushabe and Tanya Foster. Our heartiest congratulations to all three! Judges Leslie Greentree and Sally Cooper selected Adair's winning submission from among many accomplished entries.

There will be a reception in her honour on Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at the Artesian, 2627 13th Ave, Regina (time to be announced). At the reception, Adair will receive the award and give a reading from her awarded work. Also honoured during the evening will be runners-up, Iryn Tushabe and Tanya Foster.

The event is open to the public, everyone is welcome and admission is free.

The award is sponsored by the City of Regina and administered by the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild.

Bios of Jurors

Leslie Greentree is the author of three books: the short story collection A Minor Planet for You, which won the 2007 Howard O’Hagan Prize for Short Fiction; and two poetry books: go-go dancing for Elvis, which was shortlisted for the 2004 Griffin Prize for Poetry, and guys named Bill. Leslie has won CBC literary competitions for short fiction and poetry, and the Sarah Selecky 2013 Little Bird short fiction competition for a story that appears in her current short story manuscript, This is not the apocalypse I was hoping for. She co-wrote the play Oral Fixations with her life partner Blaine Newton; it was professionally produced in 2014 in Red Deer by Ignition Theatre. Her essay, “The ways Tom Petty will let you down: riffs on waiting” was written before his death, and is forthcoming in Waiting: an anthology of essays (University of Alberta Press, August, 2018).

Sally Cooper is the author of the story collection Smells Like Heaven (ARP Books, 2017) as well as acclaimed novels Love Object and Tell Everything (Dundurn). Her much-anticipated third novel is forthcoming in 2019 with Wolsak & Wynn. Her writing has appeared most recently in as CNQ: Canadian Notes & QueriesThe Feathertale ReviewGrainThe Millions and TNQ: The New Quarterly. In 2017, her writing was long-listed for the Edna Staebler Personal Essay Contest, the Short Works Prize and the Vancouver Women in Film and Television From Our Dark Side Contest. She is a senior editor of Hamilton Review of Books.