Online payments are currently unavailable. If you need to make a payment, please call the office at 306.791.7740.


The Annual Magazine of High School Writing

Windscript has been publishing the best of Saskatchewan high school students' literature since 1983. The SWG is proud to support the fresh, original work of student writers. We thank teachers and librarians who encourage their students to submit their creations.

Submission deadline for the next issue is January 15, 2021 

Submission guidelines

Submission deadline for the next issue is January 15, 2021 

Please note that as in all writing competitions, these guidelines are important and must be followed in order for a submission to be accepted.

1. Submissions are only open to Saskatchewan-based high school students.                                                                                   2. Students can submit creative writing in any and all forms including poetry, prose, and creative nonfiction. 
3. Always keep a copy of your submitted work. Submissions will not be returned.
4. Writers must submit their own work directly - submissions cannot be made by a third party (such as a parent or teacher).
5. Proofread your manuscript.
6. Submit a maximum of six poems and/or a maximum of two prose works (each piece must not exceed 1500 words)

  • Do not put more than one poem on a page. 
  • Type each piece in 12 pt. plain text font (such as Times New Roman, Arial, or Courier), and double space.
  • Number each page.
  • Put the title on each submission and each page of the manuscript. 
  • Please format your file names as follows: magazine_title_genre (example: Windscript_PoemOne_Poetry).
  • Submit documents in .doc format only. Please do not submit PDFs.

7. All work must be original from start to finish. Writers submitting plagiarized work will be banned from Windscript.
8. In a cover letter, provide the following information:     

  • Your name, home phone number, mailing address, and email
  • The genre of writing you are submitting (fiction, poetry, non-fiction)
  • The title(s) of your poems or stories
  • The name, address, and phone number of your school and your teacher's name and email address
  • If under 18, the name, email, phone number of your parent/guardian
  • A fifty-word biography written in the third person (if we publish your work, we will use this information, so be creative)

9. Submit by email to If email is unavailable, mail to Windscript, Box 3986, Regina SK, S4P 3R9
10. If your piece(s) are selected, they will go through an editing process with the Windscript editor before the final publication.

Printable Submission Guidelines

Current issue 

Volume 36, Spring 2020


Windscript awards

Each year awards are handed out to contributors of Windscript. Congratulations to the winners.

The Jerrett Enns Award recognizes excellence in poetry and prose writing. Named for Victor Jerrett Enns, Executive Director of the SWG from 1982-1988.

  • 2020 - Sohila Elgedawi (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)

Sarah-Marie Nadeau (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)

  • 2019 - Trinity Squirrel (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry

Rebekah Fehr (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)

  • 2018 - Meghan Reyda-Molnar (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)

Tia Pechawis (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)

  • 2017 - Ashley Harder (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)

Kendall Bistretzan (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)

  • 2016 - Mairyn Rackow (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)

Andrew Adair (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)

  • 2015 - Gloria Sun (Jerrett Enns Award for Poetry)

Leanne Dombowsky (Jerrett Enns Award for Prose)

The Currie-Hyland Prize is awarded for excellence in poetry to a high school student living outside Regina or Saskatoon. Established in 1992, the award honours Robert Currie and Gary Hyland in recognition of the literary excellence they achieved and their commitment to their students. 

  • 2020 - Emily Zbaraschuk
  • 2019 - Annika Olson
  • 2018 - Chad Kitchen
  • 2017 - Tiana Lafreniere
  • 2016 - Brooklyn Denton
  • 2015 - Sam Letendre

History and Archived Volumes

1983 Windscript was created by Victor Jerrett Enns, Executive Director of the Saskatchewan Writers' Guild from 1982 to 1988 His enthusiasm and determination kept the magazine alive in its fist years until permanent funding could be found.

1985 Permanent funding for Windscript is established.

1985-2003 Windscript is distributed free to all high schools and libraries in Saskatchewan.

2004  Funding sources were no longer available and the print publishing of the magazine was replaced by electronic versions through the Guild’s website.

2011 Due to popular demand from students and teachers, Windscript returns to print, while remaining available online.

Today Over 1000 writers have been published in Windscript and it is distributed free to all high schools and libraries in Saskatchewan.

Archived Volumes

Volume 35, 2019

Volume 34, 2018

For Volumes 33, 32 and 31, please contact the SWG office

Copies of archived volumes are available for free through the SWG office and are an excellent classroom resource showcasing published youth writing. Current issues are $5/issue. We reserve the right to limit the number of copies per person.

For more information, please contact:

Program Coordinator
 306.791.7746 | E:

SWG Thanks Our Funders