Winners of 25th Saskatchewan Book Awards

REGINA, SK— 25th Saskatchewan Book Awards Ceremony took place on April 28, 2018. SWG would like to congratulate its members Beth Goodie, Trevor Herriot and Miriam Koerner for winning big at the awards. 

For more information, please visit or contact:

Courtney Bates-Hardy
Executive Director
(306) 569-1585

Saskatchewan Book Awards’ Winners

Winner of the Regina Public Library Book of the Year Award: 
Extended Families : A Memoir of India by Ven Begamudre

Winner of the Muslims for Peace and Justice Fiction Award!
Glass Beads Stories by Dawn Dumont

Winner of the University of Saskatchewan Non-Fiction Award and the City of Regina Book Award! 
Islands of Grass by Trevor Herriot

Winner of the Rasmussen, Rasmussen and Charowsky Indigenous Peoples' Writing Award and the O'Reilly Insurance and The Co-operators First Book Award!
Indian Love Poems by Tenille K. Campbell

Winner of the Saskatchewan Arts Board Poetry Award and the City of Saskatoon and Public Library Saskatoon Book Award!
 Breathing at Dusk by Beth Goobie

Winner of the Children's Literature Award!
When the Trees Crackle with Cold by Bernice Johnson-Laxdal and Miriam Korner

Winner of the Jennifer Welsh Scholarly Writing Award!
Fiery Joe: The Maverick Who Lit Up the West by Nathleen Carilsle

Winner of the Ministry of Parks, Culture and Sport Publishing Award!
Claiming Anishinaabe: Decolonizing The Human Spirit By Lynn Gehl

Winner of the Publishing in Education Award, sponsored by University of Regina Faculty of Education and SaskBooks
Speaking in Cod Tongues: A Canadian Culinary Journey by Lenore Newman

Winner of the Saskatoon Public Library Indigenous Peoples' Publishing Award!
Gros Ventre