April is National Poetry Month! The Office of the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan and the Saskatchewan Writers’ Guild are proud to present readings by three Saskatchewan poets as a virtual celebration of National Poetry Month.


Saskatchewan Poet Laureate Bruce Rice introduces Youth Poet Laureate Peace Akintade, and poets Taidgh Lynch and Barbara Klar. Their readings showcase the diversity of Saskatchewan poetry and offer a chance to celebrate 2021 National Poetry Month’s theme “resilience”.



Our Poets:


Peace Akintade is an African-Canadian poet, spoken word artist and sought-after public speaker living in Saskatoon. She is the co-coordinator of Write Out Loud, which is a Saskatoon-based youth poetry community, and a board member of Tonight It’s Poetry. She is Saskatoon’s Youth Slam Champion from 2017-2019. Her poems touch on the impact of slavery in her village, colorism, growing up in Kuwait, Nigeria and Canada, and relearning her culture in the face of colonization. She is the 2020-2021 Saskatchewan Youth Poet Laureate.






Taidgh Lynch is a poet from Killarney, Ireland. He is the Managing Editor for the upcoming volume of Windscript Magazine. His poetry has appeared in SpringDrawn to the Light PressPrairie FireFreeFall, ROPES, and elsewhere. First Lift Here, his poetry chapbook, was published with Jack Pine Press. He lives in Saskatoon with his partner and child. Visit his Twitter: @taidghlynch 










Barbara Klar's poetry and essays examine the human relationship with the natural world. Her books include The Night You Called Me a Shadow, The Blue Field, Tower Road, and most recently Cypress, a poetic meditation on the Cypress Hills. Her long list of awards includes the Gerald Lampert Award, the Wallace Stegner Grant for the Arts, and the Joseph Stauffer Prize from the Canada Council. She writes, walks, and mentors from southwest Saskatchewan.









Funding from SaskLotteries is gratefully acknowledged for this celebration and the Saskatchewan Poet Laureate program. The SWG is also thankful to the Lieutenant Governor of Saskatchewan’s Office for their long-standing patronage of our Poet Laureate program and their support for the literary community in Saskatchewan.


Funding provided by: